Don Gutteridge

Historical Mystery

 



Don Gutteridge

Simon & Schuster Can/US 2011

Vital Secrets

A Marc Edwards Mystery

“Puts entertaining round flesh on history’s bones.”
Joan Barfoot

The adventures of dashing British army officer Marc Edwards were hailed in his first two outings. “This witty combination of mystery and history is enormous fun,” wrote Isabel Huggan. “A most satisfying mystery,” wrote Maureen Jennings.

In Vital Secrets, Marc, posted at Fort York in Toronto in 1837, is chafing under his usual duties with his regiment. The arrival of a touring theatrical company in the British colony promises light diversion. But events turn nasty when his friend Rick Hilliard falls for a young actress and is accused of murdering his rival for her affections by stabbing him with his sabre.

Marc’s investigation reveals that the victim was selling smuggled American rifles to local rebels agitating for the expulsion of British rulers. Was it a political murder or a crime of passion?

Marc’s involvement with the theater troupe yields an astounding revelation about the secret of his own identity.

This series vividly portrays life in British North America under the reign of Queen Victoria, when Americans were eyeing Canada for annexation, and the Canadians were agitating for autonomy from both Britain and the United States. Fans of Patrick O’Brian and Bernard Cornwell will embrace Marc Edwards as a hero and as a man torn between his loyalty to the Crown and his growing sympathy for the democratic reform movement.

Don Gutteridge, an acclaimed poet and novelist, has drafted 12 novels in this landmark series!